Still Reading 1Q84

16 02 2012

I’m still reading 1Q84 by Murakami. It is quite a while since I read a book that I really looked forward to reading in the evening after work. Like, “Good, it’s 4.00 PM. I can go home and read 1Q84!” Why? Well, there are lots of good books out there, with interesting plots and great characters. What’s different about 1Q84 is that I’m constantly intrigued by this novel. Where is it going? What kind of novel is it really? For the first three hundred pages it’s kind of normal realism, with a few quirky details. But then it suddenly changes a bit. Is it magical realism? I love magical realism and Garcia Marquez, but that’s not it. Is it sci-fi? Well, not really. Anyway, I’m now on page 614 and I’m still not sure what genre this novel is. What I know is that I really want to find out what will happen next to Aomame and Tengo, and that I love coming home from work to read some more.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

